Cleaning out and donating old clothes

We have an exceptionally large closet for living on a boat.  But even with all that space, I still am having trouble making the transition into a smaller wardrobe.  In all honesty, I had 2 large walk in closets at my condo in SC before I married Jeremy.  After the wedding we moved in together in a tiny 800 sf apartment that still had a huge walk in closet.  So I never really downsized significantly enough before the boat.  It was October when we moved aboard, so I packed up all my summer clothes and half my business clothes into space-saver vacuum bags and put them out of sight.  Those bags are pretty sweet for boats because they are water proof.

But two warnings about space saver bags: 1- the bags are not cat resistant.. they freakin love biting the edges and once a pin hole opens, it makes a noise that drives them nuts.  2- If you put anything that was at one point stained, the stains return with revenge.  I don’t know what it is about lack of oxygen, but I cannot get those stains out a second time!

Anyway, I needed my summer clothes.  So I went through my winter clothes and donated what I didn’t use over those few months.  Then we dug into the bags of summer clothes.  I had forgotten how much I owned!  And I love finding new things to wear.  It was more fun then a huge shopping spree!  😀  But I cannot keep all of the clothes, we simply don’t have enough space.  So over the next week, I am going to be weeding out what I want to keep for next summer (saves money because it will be like a new set of clothes!), what I can give to cousins and friends, and what needs to be donated.

So I have been doing research on the best ways to donate, where and different types of donations.  Below is a brief list of my research and ideas!  I hope it helps, especially at the end of summer when its time to break out the winter clothes again.

Ideas:

Rotate your clothes for the seasons and years!  Unless you are really a stickler for wearing the hippest and hotest trends, then rotate some of your clothes.  Instead of bringing out all of your seasonal clothes, try resisting and keeping some of it in storage.  Bringing that forgotten clothes out at the next season will feel like brand new clothes.  And it’s free!  But you might not want to do this step, and that is ok.

There are a ton of places and ways to donate your clothes.  But what about getting creative?!  People make rugs out of old t-shirts.  It looks really cool, but I think it is pretty labor intensive.  Plus, I wonder if it holds up well to the washing machine. But I guess that depends on how well it is crafted.

If you have a sewing machine (and your on a boat.. kudos!), then there are an endless number of projects you can use old clothes as materials to finish.  But not just other clothes.  You can make curtains, bags, accessories and jewelry, hats, pet toys, and decorations.  I have even seen lamp shades made from old lacy pieces!  😉

And the classic use of old clothes that are really worn is to use them for rags.  Living on boats present many opportunities for using some good rags.  Cleaning up in the engine room, cleaning the cabin spaces, and just having something at hand when something gets messy.  At least it saves on paper towels and keeps my real towels from becoming rags.  I have a pieces of my husband’s old under shirt that is especially soft I save for massaging oil into the wood.  Jeremy hates the smell of the store purchased oil, so I found a DIY recipe I want to try.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Resources for donating clothes to other organizations:

7 Steps for first time donators.

Interesting article about donated clothing.  Although I have to say, I personally can say this is not entirely true.

Pick up service for donated items.

Planet Aid – the bright yellow donations box you see everywhere!

More information in detail.

Or you can always trade clothes in the marina or sell online.  In any case, things you buy and use still holds value.. even if it is just for rags.

Cheers!

Leave a comment